My previous exploration of CMSs had identified Edmodo as a powerful system for the elementary teacher. This week, I embarked on the task of creating my first assessment in Edmodo. The assessment is a reading comprehension test that has been differentiated for the three tiered groups (lower ability, middle ability and higher ability). In my previous review, I had highlighted that one of the great features of Edmodo is that it allows for personalised learning. Teachers can create small groups within the main class and target each group with different assignments and quizzes. Using this small group feature, I was able to create a differentiated assessment for each group that varies the number of questions asked and the format of questions between groups.

Edmodo’s quiz feature also allows the teacher to set time limits for the quiz and to link the quiz to the student’s gradebook so that progress can be tracked over a series of assessments. This is important so that I can see student’s growth over time and to identify areas of weaknesses that can be used to inform instruction.

The screencast can be viewed below: